Skip links and keyboard navigation

Coronavirus (COVID-19)—information for the Queensland maritime industry

Maritime Safety Queensland (MSQ) and Queensland’s Vessel Traffic Services have been monitoring all foreign trading ships arriving at Queensland ports due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19). These reports are published at 1700 weekly. 

If you would like to be added to this reporting distribution list, subscribe to receive the weekly updates. 

Subscribe for weekly updates

See the most recent updates

Marine information bulletin: Recreational boating in Queensland with the Movement and Gathering Direction

General Manager's direction

In response to COVID-19, Maritime Safety Queensland has issued Directions that are applicable to the Masters of all ships Queensland.

VTS directions

General Manager's notice

Boatsafe

BoatSafe Information Bulletin – operating conditions during COVID-19  (issued 8 May)

Crew Changeover form 

MSQ has developed a ‘best practice’ checklist form that receiving port operators and terminals may wish to use to help facilitate both the ‘on-signing’ of incoming crew and the ‘off-signing’ of departing crew. This process is also aimed to give confidence to local authorities that a consistent assessment and process is available throughout Queensland.

This checklist form is not an approval to conduct a crew changeover (this approval already exists in line with the QLD Chief Officer Border Restrictions Directive No.5)—it is a checklist that assists receiving Port Authorities and Terminals in ensuring that appropriate COVID-19 risk mitigation measures have been undertaken by incoming/off-going crews and their companies. The decision to receive incoming crew is one that ultimately rests with the terminal operators and Port Authorities.

Access the Crew Changeover checklist form

More about international crew change over Code of Conduct

Status update

The following table shows the status of vessels that have entered Queensland ports and Reef Vessel Traffic Services over the reporting periods shown. 

Reporting period ending Number of vessels Vessels reporting 'no' to all mandatory questions 
Saturday 20 June–Friday 26 June  265 265
Saturday 13 June–Friday 19 June  253 253
Saturday 6 June–Friday 12 June 242 242
Saturday 30 May–Friday 5 June  259  259 
Saturday 23 May–Friday 29 May  251  251 
Saturday 16 May–Friday 22 May  245  245
Saturday 9 May–Friday 15 May  225  201 
Saturday 2 May–Friday 8 May  271  219 
Saturday, 25 April–Friday 1 May  262  164 
Friday, 24 April  20  13 
Thursday, 23 April  32  19 
Wednesday, 22 April  41  25 
Tuesday 21 April  49 22 
Monday, 20 April  51  36 
Sunday, 19 April  47  36 
Saturday, 18 April  32  17 
Friday, 17 April  31  21 
Thursday 16 April  32 20 
Wednesday, 15 April   26  10 
Tuesday, 14 April  32  23 
Monday, 13 April  39  27 
Sunday, 12 April  46  33 
Saturday, 11 April  34  21 
Friday, 10 April  43  29 
Thursday, 9 April  44  28 
Wednesday 8 April  32  19 
Tuesday, 7 April  33  21 
Monday, 6 April  40  23
Sunday, 5 April  35  17 
Saturday, 4 April  44   30 
Friday, 3 April  33  21 
Thursday, 2 April  30  18 
Wednesday, 1 April
50  38 
Tuesday, 31 March  40  25 
Monday, 30 March  41  33 
Sunday, 29 March  45  29 
Saturday, 28 March  46  33 
Friday, 27 March  47  36 
Thursday, 26 March  31  22 
Wednesday, 25 March  28 22
Tuesday, 24 March  51  41 
Monday, 23 March  37 32
Sunday, 22 March  45 39
Saturday, 21 March  46 39
Friday, 20 March  35 34
Thursday, 19 March  44 39
Wednesday, 18 March 49  46 
Tuesday, 17 March  48  42 
Monday, 16 March  48  43 
Sunday, 15 March  55 53
Saturday, 14 March 32 30
Friday, 13 March   48 43
Thursday, 12 March 28  25
Wednesday, 11 March  45 38
Tuesday, 10 March  38 32
Monday, 9 March  38  27
Sunday, 8 March  51 44
Saturday, 7 March  35 31
Friday, 6 March 42 40
Thursday, 5 March  50 42
Wednesday, 4 March 38 27
Tuesday, 3 March  48 45
Monday, 2 March  44 43
Sunday, 1 March  49 47
Saturday, 29 February  46 45
Friday, 28 February  44 43
Thursday, 27 February  51 49 
Wednesday, 26 February  44  43 
Tuesday, 25 February  41 38
Monday, 24 February  62 57
Sunday, 23 February  51  50 
Saturday, 22 February  44  44 
Friday, 21 February  49  46 
Thursday, 20 February  71  67 
Wednesday, 19 February  42  39 
Tuesday, 18 February 61 55
Monday, 17 February 42 36
Sunday, 16 February 49 43
Saturday, 15 February 45 39
Friday, 14 February 45 41
Thursday, 13 February  40  35 
Wednesday, 12 February  36 32 
Tuesday, 11 February  44  44 
Monday, 10 February  54  53 
Sunday, 9 February  37  36 
Saturday, 8 February 38 36 
Friday, 7 February 57  57
Thursday, 6 February  56  55 
Wednesday, 5 February  45  44 
Tuesday, 4 February 49 48
Monday, 3 February 46 46
Sunday, 2 February 42  39 
Saturday, 1 February 46 44
Friday, 31 January 23 23
Total  5891 5115

More information

Last updated
29 June 2020