State boat harbours

There are 10 state boat harbours in Queensland. These were developed as part of a commitment by the state government in the 1960s and 1970s to promote boating activities along the Queensland coast.

State boat harbours were initially established at about one day's sailing distance apart to provide safe havens for vessels on coastal voyages. They provide all-tide sheltered boat launching and landing sites, and facilitate development of marinas and other commercial marine activities.

 Boat harbour Managed by 
Manly Transport and Main Roads
Cabbage Tree Creek (Shorncliffe) Transport and Main Roads
Scarborough Transport and Main Roads
Mooloolaba Transport and Main Roads
Snapper Creek (Tin Can Bay) Transport and Main Roads
Urangan (Hervey Bay) Transport and Main Roads
Burnett Heads Gladstone Ports Corporation
Rosslyn Bay (near Yeppoon) Transport and Main Roads
Bowen Transport and Main Roads
Port Douglas Douglas Shire Council

Transport and Main Roads owns and maintains the public boating infrastructure (boat ramps, floating walkways, pontoons, jetties and breakwaters) in all ten harbours and is responsible for maintaining the entrance and internal public navigation channels to those facilities. Lessees of seabed within the harbour precinct (such as marinas, commercial operators and boat clubs) are responsible for maintenance dredging within their leased areas.

If you have any questions about the operation of state boat harbours, please email

Last updated
23 January 2023