Skip links and keyboard navigation

IALA buoyage system

Queensland uses an internationally recognised uniform coding system of navigation marks known as the International Association of Marine Aids to Navigation and Lighthouse Authorities (IALA) buoyage system 'A'.

This system uses 6 different types of marks to distinguish safe navigation.

The 6 marks are:


Example of a port beacon
with navigational advice.
example of a port beacon with navigational advice
Example of a starboard buoy.

example of a starboard buoy


Further information

Buoys, marks and beacons factsheet
This factsheet provides information on different navigation marks and their meanings.

Last updated
09 July 2014